Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Yesterday I came home and felt the strong urge to use some leftover fried chicken, feeling I was in desperate need of some soul nurturing. What little essentials we have are buried in a storage unit and unloading them daily is wearing on me. I just feel tired. So for whatever reason, I was moved to make some soup. Usually when I get an idea in my head for a meal, I go to the internet to get ideas. Today, I totally just threw a bunch of stuff in a pot, using only my intuition to guide me, smelling and tasting my way through it. It ended up being just what I needed. It tasted amazing and felt like it healed some of my current heartaches. I decided to share this recipe because when despite using no measurements, it turned out spectacular.

And in this cold, sick, and twisted world, who couldn’t use a little chicken soup for the soul?

EASY FRIED CHICKEN SOUP FOR THE SOUL

Ingredients:

  • Leftover Fried Chicken *3 legs, 2 breasts, skinless*
  • Water (filled a big pot 3/4 of the way full)
  • Red Onion – finely diced (used about half of a medium onion)
  • Celery – stalk diced in small bits *used one full stalk, including leaves*
  • Parsely – (added to taste) *used three heavy open pour sprinkles*
  • Honey – (added to taste) *two big dollops*
  • 100% natural Apple Juice – (added to taste) *about half of a Red Solo cup*
  • Salt – (added to taste) *added several times during simmering*
  • Butter – (added to taste) *used a whole stick*
  • Leftover Lumpy Mashed Potatoes (as desired)
  • Egg Noodles (as desired)

Utensils:

  • Large Pot
  • Cutting board
  • Knife
  • Ladle or Soup Spoon

Directions:

  • Remove chicken from bone and break into bite size chunks. Add chicken to the pot. Keep chicken bones.
  • Prepare the bones for simmering. Remove any small bones and other pieces that would be harmful if swallowed accidentally (tiny easily broken bones, gristle, etc). I personally removed any pieces that wouldn’t be easy for me to pull out after the broth was ready. Place chicken bones in the pot with the chicken. I personally used the chicken legs and the bigger parts of the breast bone.
  • Add water to pan. I used a very large pot and filled it roughly three quarters of the way full.
  • Turn on medium heat and stir regularly.
  • Add all celery to pan. I broke off the top portion of the celery stalk and threw it in the pan in large pieces. I chose not to chop these, opting to remove them once the broth was flavorful. The bottom portion of the stalk was diced into tiny little pieces and remained in the soup.
  • Add flavoring items as desired. I chose to use honey, natural apple juice, salt, and butter. I prefer natural materials and am quite generous with them. I used a full stick of butter which left the soup with a nice buttery feel and taste. Perhaps not healthy for the body, but oh so good to the soul.
  • Let simmer until the broth is flavored to your liking. I let the broth simmer for about an hour. Throughout the hour I was stirring regularly and tasting it. As the flavors developed I would add more flavor ingredients as I felt necessary. I added extra onions and celery along with adding salt regularly in what felt like large amounts. Cooking for me is all about my feelings – I add what feels and tastes right not only to my body but also my soul.
  • After the broth is flavored to your liking, remove the chicken bones and celery leaves.
  • Add mashed potatoes and egg noodles to broth. Turn on high and cook until noodles are soft.
  • Serve and enjoy!
